The UK Americana Awards Show 2018

01 Feb 8pm
The UK Americana Awards Show 2018 01 Feb 8pm

The third UK Americana Awards show takes place on 1st February 2018 at the fabulous Hackney Empire in East London. The awards celebrate the achievements of British and International members of the Americana music community, and we are honoured that the show will once again be hosted by the legendary broadcaster Bob Harris OBE.

Performances on the night will be from a selection of our amazing nominees:


Lifetime Achievement Award
Selected by the board members, our highest honour is awarded to a UK artist, duo or group in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the Americana genre over the span of their career and life in music. The 2018 recipient will be Robert Plant.

Trailblazer Award
Selected by the board members, this special award celebrates a UK artist, duo or group that has taken an exceptional path, inspiring others to follow in their footsteps in developing the Americana genre. The 2018 recipient will be Mumford and Sons

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award
Selected by Bob Harris OBE, this special award celebrates the breakthrough artist, duo or group that has particularly impressed the legendary music broadcaster throughout the year. The 2018 recipient will be The Wandering Hearts.

Best Selling Americana Album
AMA-UK works with The Official Charts Company to create the UK Americana Album Chart. This Award is given to the best selling Americana Album by a UK Artist. The 2018 recipient will be announced in January.

Grass Roots Award
Selected by the board members, this special award celebrates the sometimes un-sung heroes of the UK Americana scene. It is presented to individuals working in the industry (in a capacity other than as artists) who have made outstanding efforts to support Americana music from the grass roots up. The 2018 recipients are Come Down And Meet The Folks.

UK Album of the Year
Brilliant Light by Danny & The Champions of The World (produced by Chris Clarke)
I’ll Make The Most Of My Sins by Robert Vincent (produced by Robert Vincent, Michael Gay and Etienne Girard)
Proud Disturber Of The Peace by William The Conqueror (produced by Ruarri Joseph and Harry Harding)
Sweet Kind Of Blue by Emily Barker (produced by Matt Ross-Spang)

International Album of the Year
A Deeper Understanding by The War On Drugs (produced by Adam Granduciel)
Honest Life by Courtney Marie Andrews (produced by Courtney Marie Andrews)
So You Wanna Be An Outlaw by Steve Earle & The Dukes (produced by Richard Bennett)
The Nashville Sound by Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit (produced by Dave Cobb)

UK Song of the Year
Devon Brigade by Police Dog Hogan (written by James Studholme)
Endless Road by Worry Dolls (written by Zoe Nicol, Rosie Jones and Jeff Cohen)
Home by Yola Carter (written by Yola Carter)
Moonshine by Foy Vance (written by Foy Vance)

International Song of the Year
Pa’lante by Hurray For The Riff Raff (written by Alynda Segarra and Pedro Pietri)
Ready To Die by Aaron Lee Tasjan (written by Aaron Lee Tasjan)
Tenderheart by Sam Outlaw (written by Sam Outlaw)
Thirteen Silver Dollars by Colter Wall (written by Colter Wall)

UK Artist of the Year
Danni Nicholls
Danny & The Champions of The World
Emily Barker
Laura Marling

International Artist of the Year
Angaleena Presley
Courtney Marie Andrews
Imelda May
Rhiannon Giddens

UK Instrumentalist of the Year
Georgina Leach
Kit Hawes
Harry Harding
Thomas Collison



Hackney Empire

£25  –  Dress Circle Boxes  £160 (4 Tickets) – £120 (3 Tickets) Need to be booked as a whole box – This includes entry to the after-show party @ Oslo for each seat holder.  (plus £1 per ticket online, £1.25 per ticket over the phone)  For more information  and to book  the Dress Circle Boxes package please call our Box Office. on  +44 (0)20 8985 2424

AGE LIMIT: 14 years and over  Under 16’s  to be accompanied by an adult. 



Doors open: 18:45

Events Starts: 20:00

Ends : 22.00

Running Time: 2 hours with no interval

No photography or filming during the show 

Attending This Performance?

You might also like...